The Augustusburg Palace and Falkenlust Hunting Lodge are among Germany’s earliest examples of Rococo architecture. Together with the gardens that connect the two buildings, this area is one of the NRW’s five UNESCO World Heritage sites.
A quick history of the Castles of Augustus and Falkenlust
In 1725 Clemens August, archbishop and elector of Cologne, began construction of the Augustus Palace on the ruins of a medieval castle. A few years later the garden next to the palace was landscaped by a student of Versailles’s garden designer. By 1729, a hunting lodge was built, Falkenlust. In order to increase the likelihood of hunting opportunities, the location was planned. They placed it in the path of the heron from the palace to its final destination near the Rhein. Perfect for hunting.
Since then, both buildings have changed purposes and the gardens have changed designs. Today, Falkenlust is a museum. Visitors are welcome to explore it and the gardens at their own pace. The Augustusburg Palace is via guided tour only.
The two palaces are opened seasonally. Please check the website for dates and times.
Photo Credit: TablinumCarlson
Visited 3169 times, 1 Visits today